National Only Child Day

Just when I got over the fact that I was an only child, along comes a day to rub having siblings in the face of only children all over the world. The day is April 10th, and the holiday is National Sibling Day, or as I like to call it “National Only Child Awareness Day”. Now maybe I just haven’t been observant, which is very out of my character, but I never realized National Sibling Day even existed until I saw about 10,000 tweets and FB shout outs on last year’s National Sibling Day.  And after National Sibling Day 2012 passed, there seemed to be a frenzy of “national” celebration days such as National Margarita Day, National Bird Day, and National Kiss a Baseball Player Day. I began to question, since when did everything have a day of celebration and appreciation, and why don’t us only children have one?

No favorites on this tweet...apparently no one else felt the same way

No favorites on this tweet…apparently no one else felt the same way

So I did some research and found out I was not alone with my feeling of being left out of National Sibling Day. Apparently, a fellow only child has proposed for the last Sunday of every July to be National Only Child Day.(If you want to read more about it click here.)First of all, I would like to give kudos to this proactive only child for standing up for the rest of us and creating a day where we can celebrate a life of being the one and only child, and in my case, grand child in the family. Second, I would like to say thank you to whoever he or she is because they saved my indecisive self from having to pick one day out of 365, since I had every prospect of proposing this day myself. So while all of you non-only children prepare your pic stitch of memories with your siblings for April 10th (you have one week from today!), I will be preparing an unforgettable pic stitch of selfies for the last Sunday in July. I might even throw in one with my dog since we all know my parents consider him the second child.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment